Photo of BPA's Upcoming Events
Pictured: Jennifer Pippin-Montanez, Steve Stolee, and Maria Viera Beatty

Greetings! "From active shooter drills to film noir references, from marital arguments to artificial intelligence - this year's [Island Theatre] Ten-Minute Play Festival reflects the concerns of the times through the eyes of Kitsap County's talented writers, both first-timers and experienced playwrights." - Bainbridge Community Broadcasting. Listen to the BCB podcast with Island Theatre here!

MEET THE PLAYWRIGHTS (pictured above L to R): Dan Rosenberg, Diane Walker, Maria Vierra Beatty, Tamara Rockwood, Eve Palay, Jeff Fraga, Jennifer Pippin-Montanez and Catherine Rush; not shown—Connie Bennett, Robert Craighead. Island Theatre photo by Steve Stolee from the public panel discussion with the playwrights, May 31.

Island Theatre brings to the stage ten of the best short plays penned by Kitsap County playwrights for a three day festival of live performances at BPA. Selected from over sixty submissions by a blind judging panel of theatre professionals, this year's plays are helmed by ten local directors and cast with over two dozen local actors. 

Performances: Thursday - Saturday, August 15 - 17 at 7:30 p.m. + Saturday Matinee, August 17 at 3 p.m. August 15 preview is non-ticketed. Pay-What-You-Can at the door! Get your tickets here!

The ten plays and playwrights are: “Alexa” by Jeff Fraga; “Best Defense” by Jennifer Pippin-Montanez; “Dancing with Orion” by Diane Walker; “Devolution” by Connie J. Bennett; “Hijab” by Catherine Rush; “The Lady from Out of the Past” by Maria Viera Beatty; “Let Me Finish (One Last Chance)” by Dan Rosenberg; “The Raven in the Woods” by Tamarah Rockwood; “The Rose Bowl” by Robert Craighead; and “Trans-Matters” by Eve Palay. Directors for the plays are Scott Breitbarth, Jeff Brown, Hanna Eady, Karen Hauser, Jennifer Hodges, D'Arcy Clements, Kristi Ann Jacobson, Ryan O’Donnell, Fred Saas, and Steve Stolee, who is also managing director of the festival. Actors include Jim Alexander, Libby Clements, Samantha Byergo, Sam McJunkin, Tres Cozine, Evan Lenz, Terace Yeatts, Wayne Purves, Melissa Munden, Tammy Byergo, David Hager, Sandi Spellman, Jeff Brown, Tyler Weaver, Marybeth Redmond, Pete Simpson, Kristi Ann Jacobson, and Eve Palay.

Click on the BPA Playbill below to buy tickets!

BPA Playbill

Bainbridge Performing Arts | 200 Madison Avenue North, B.I., 98110

Photo of Bainbridge Performing Arts

About the Author

Since 1956, countless acts – large and small – have informed each production that graces the BPA stage. Collectively we have grown and reaped a communal bounty of grass-roots ARTivism, with people from all walks of life gathering under one roof to laugh, rage, and cry with friends, family, neighbors, and strangers. As heart strings are plucked in a drumbeat of connection, we turn to you in gratitude for the opportunity to bring a taste of magic to the community that we love!

Read more posts from Bainbridge